Open Thread: House debates impeachment rules (Update: Passed 232-196)

Open Thread: House debates impeachment rules (Update: Passed 232-196)

Grab your popcorn, watch the loud Republican howling and whining, and revel as the Democrats move methodically to pass the rules for the public phases of the impeachment hearings.

Below is the live feed from PBS.

Update (8:30 am Pacific/ 11:30 am Eastern): And the final tally is is:

  • Yeas: 232

  • Nays: 196

  • Present: 0

  • Not voting: 4

Just 2 Democrats voted No. One Democrat and three Republicans did not vote.

Update 8:40 am Pacific/11:40 am Eastern: The 2 Democrats voting No are: Collin Peterson (MN-7) and Jeff Van Drew (NJ-2). Former Republican Justin Amash voted Yes.

Dem not voting: A. Donald McEachin (VA-4)

GOP not voting: John Rose (TN-6), William Timmons (SC-4), and Jody Hice (GA-10).

Full tally here.


Like what you read? Chip in, keep us going.


Take yes for an answer: Why impeaching Trump on Ukraine means holding him accountable for Russiagate

Take yes for an answer: Why impeaching Trump on Ukraine means holding him accountable for Russiagate

Pelosi's hardball: Impeachment rules anticipate GOP disruption

Pelosi's hardball: Impeachment rules anticipate GOP disruption